Special welcome to my first readers from Bulgaria, Costa Rica, and France!  Thanks for reading!

I love a good road trip and one of my all time favorites is my travels through Bosnia-Herzegovina (BiH) from Sarajevo to Banja Luka to Mostar and everywhere in between.  As I shared in an earlier post, through a research program I had ground transportation from the OSCE Mission while I was in BiH.  Without that support, I definitely would not have seen as much of this beautiful country.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our driver, who had been a truck driver in the UK in a former life, was hilarious and gave a running commentary of his impressions and memories of various places as we wound our way through the country and visited organizations in Sarajevo, Banja Luka and Mostar.  One of my favorite stories, was his recollection of aid workers that would dress up as clowns on their runs into dangerous areas to deliver supplies during the height of the 1990’s conflict.  The other OSCE drivers in our caravan included a Bosniak, Croat, and a Serb who gave us an interesting perspective on their experiences during and after the war.

Pictures include view of Oslobendje Newspaper Building from the parking lot of the UN Mission to BiH in Sarajevo, scenes from the hills above Sarajevo including what remains of a bobsled run from the 1984 Winter Olympics in Sarajevo, Prijedor Concentration Camp (brick buildings), Travnik, Mostar, Banja Luka, and various scenes along the way.  Enjoy!

