Last weekend I visited friends in Boston (Tarheel transplants by way of Philly) and being the foodies they are I was taken to fabulous eatery after even more amazing eatery. Impossible to choose my favorite, I would recommend them all the next time you find yourself in Beantown.

The Helmand – 143 First Street, Cambridge, MA

My first Afghan cuisine experience and it was tre yummy! I highly recommend trying any lamb dish, but their veggie dishes of eggplant and pumpkin are delicious as well. Read menu here. The Helmand also has a location in San Francisco at 430 Broadway, San Francisco, CA  94133.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tatte Bakery & Cafe – 318 Third Street, Cambridge, MA

I opted for the Shakshuka, which is a traditional North African dish with eggs, pepper & tomato and was not disappointed. Check out menu here.

Van Shabu Hot Pot & Sushi Bar – 1156 Dorchester Ave., Dorchester, MA

We went for their lunch special which is all you can eat Hot Pot & Sushi.  Their lunch special runs everyday from 11:00a – 3:00p. Van Shabu also has dinner specials – Monday nights are all you can eat Hot Pot, Wednesday nights are all you can eat Suishi, and Friday all day is $1.00 oysters. Get the menu here.

L.A. Burdick Handmade Chocolates – 220 Clarendon Street, Boston, MA (Multiple Locations)

Whenever I visit Boston this is my go-to spot for gifts to take home.  All their chocolates are wonderful and they are known for their hot chocolate as well. You can get a cup at the store or purchase the mix to make at home. More here.

Hei La Moon – 88 Beach Street, Boston MA

LOVE.  Dim Sum at Hei La Moon is always a treat and not to be missed. Read more here.

The Daily Catch – 323 Hanover Street, Boston, MA (Multiple Locations)

If I had to pick my favorite meal from the weekend (although I said I would not . . . ) it would be The Daily Catch.  They have been serving Sicilian style seafood and pasta since 1973.  You absolutely have to try the Black Pasta, I have not had anything that good since I was in Italy. Cash ONLY so come prepared. Menu here.

